[Port of Spain stables]

Date

2010-04-23T13:27:45Z

Authors

Journal Title

Journal ISSN

Volume Title

Publisher

Abstract

This picturesque building is the Haynes Clark Livery Stables, Tragarete Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad (Angostura Historical Digest of Trinidad and Tobago, Vol. IV). Two horse drawn carriages are parked outside, each with a hat-topped coachman. John Haynes Clark was a coloured businessman who began selling Venezuelan mules in 1875, expanded his business to include the rental of horses and carriages in 1880, partnered with the coach-building and livery firm Pashley Bros later taking over the firm and naming it after himself in 1904. The building is featured here. Clark and Battoo Ltd. now operates at this location, 11 Tragarete Road (Trinidad Guardian, Sunday, November 4, 2012). This postcard is addressed to May C. Ray, the address is unclear. However the card is postmarked 3rd May 1909 and affixed is a one cent Canadian postage stamp.

Description

Colour: Coloured; Style: Landscape; Other: Unbordered, Divided
Funding for this project has been provided by Mrs. Irma E. Goldstraw.

Table of Contents

Keywords

Trinidad and Tobago, Postcards, Carriages and carts--Trinidad and Tobago, Stables--Trinidad and Tobago, Half-timbered buildings--Trinidad and Tobago, Business enterprises--Trinidad and Tobago, Home-based businesses--Trinidad and Tobago, Coach drivers--Trinidad and Tobago, Transport workers--Trinidad and Tobago, Transportation--Trinidad and Tobago, Dwellings--Trinidad and Tobago, Architecture--Trinidad and Tobago, Cities and towns--Trinidad and Tobago--Port of Spain, [1904], Clothing and dress--Trinidad and Tobago, Hats--Trinidad and Tobago, Horsemanship--Equipment and supplies, Riding whips--Trinidad and Tobago, Whips--Trinidad and Tobago, Horses--Trinidad and Tobago

Citation